Broward College Recognizes Seven Outstanding Faculty with 2019 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. (April 18, 2019) – In recognition of their work in the classroom, seven faculty were awarded 2019 Broward College Foundation Endowed Teaching Chairs. The program provides one-year grants of $10,000 to deserving faculty in support of professional development and projects to improve classroom excellence and efficiency.

In 1989, the Broward Community College Foundation announced the project to establish 30 Endowed Teaching Chairs in celebration of the college's 30th anniversary. The first chairs were awarded to faculty members in 1992.

"It is essential for educators to master their field, but they must also strive to become proficient teachers and inspiring mentors who embrace innovation as the path to the future," said Broward College President Gregory Adam Haile, Esq. who announced the awards to the winners during surprise classroom visits on Thursday, April 18. "With the support of philanthropic individuals, businesses, and foundations, our faculty are being empowered to develop their skills and find creative ways to engage students in the classroom."

The chairs and faculty recipients, who were selected by a panel of their peers following an in-depth review, are:

Children's Opportunity Group Endowed Teaching ChairDr. Savena Budhu Barajas is an assistant professor of English. Dr. Barajas developed and designed the Caribbean Literature course that may be used as a General Education requirement. She received the Student Life Development award in 2012 and Professor of the Year in 2012.

Bank of America I Endowed Teaching ChairDr. Scott Demsky started his career in teaching at a university. He went on to a 25-year career in software development at IBM and returned to higher education as a math professor at Broward College. The associate professor of Mathematics is also a member of Broward College's Critical Thinking Learning Society.

Bank of America II Endowed Teaching ChairBenjamin Botero is a two-time ASPEN Faculty Innovation Award recipient, and winner of the 2017 Broward College Central Campus Professor of the Year. Botero is an assistant professor of Criminal Justice and holder of three master's degrees. He also is a mentor to the Criminal Justice Club.

Margaret and Cato Roach Endowed Teaching ChairLourdes Heuer is an assistant professor of English, a member of the College Read Committee, and advisor for the Broward College Online College Read Book Club. Heuer is a member of the National Council of Teachers of English and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.

International Education Endowed Teaching ChairDr. Isis Silva is an associate professor of education. Dr. Silva recognizes the significant role culture plays in Education. She has presented at the annual Council on International Education Exchange conference in Barcelona and, during spring break this year, she helped lead a study abroad course for Broward College students in France.

Gaddis Corporation Endowed Teaching ChairRudy Jean-Bart is an assistant professor of History. Jean-Bart is an Aspen Faculty Innovation Grant winner. He is a faculty advisor for the Black Student Union and Food for Thought. He also hosted the college-wide TEDx event. Professor Jean-Bart has presented his research at a conference of the Southeastern Evolutionary Perspective Society.

Cleveland Clinic Florida Endowed Teaching ChairDr. Ellen Glazer is an assistant professor of computer and information science, who won her first teaching chair in 2006 when she was named First Union Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair.

For additional information about Broward College and its outstanding faculty, visit


Serving approximately 56,000 students annually, Broward College provides residents with certificate programs, two-year university-transfer degrees, two-year career degrees, and baccalaureate degrees in selected programs. The mission of the College is to provide high-quality educational programs and services that are affordable and accessible to a diverse community of learners. For more information, visit